Small Great Things


Small Great Things: A Novel

I was looking for a story to capture my attention this holiday weekend.  I didn’t have far to look as this book is Jodi Picoult at her best.  Weaving a narrative you can get lost in.  Using strong characters and their emotions to make us feel emotional throughout.  I moved through annoyed, angry and upset with each chapter as I raced to the conclusion.   I couldn’t put it down and darned if it didn’t make me reflect

Ruth has been a nurse for twenty years with not one issue until she encounters Turk and Brittney after giving birth to their son Davis.  They ask to have her removed from caring for her son solely because she’s African American.  Things unravel quickly from here and it’s then the book grabs you and doesn’t let go.

There were times where I felt Ms Picoult was preaching at me, but ultimately the book is awesome. Ruth is such a great character.  So well developed, I feel I’m missing her friendship already.  Picoult had the ability to fully develop her characters and oh can she weave a story.

Without giving away the plot, I’ll say that Picoult develops both sides fully.  The book is told in alternating perspectives of Ruth, Kennedy a public defender and Turk.  She sheds light on many issues of racism including those we don’t see.  It’s a book to add to your reading list, especially if you’re a fan.

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for allowing me to read in exchange for an honest review.  Available now for preorder.  Due out in October.

Leave a Reply

